Gluten-Free Diet Living
Gluten-free diet has always been a trending health topic.
The diet excludes a protein called gluten found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and a cross between wheat and rye called triticale. Gluten helps foods, primarily bread, maintain their shape.
Gluten-free diet is suitable for those who suffer from wheat allergy, celiac disease and gluten intolerance.
Identifying Gluten-Free Foods
To help you get to know the ground rules of gluten-free diet, here is a list of foods to enjoy that do not contain gluten:
- Corn in all forms (corn flour, corn meal, corn grits, etc.)
- Plain rice in all forms (white, brown, wild, basmati, enriched rice, etc.)
- Amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, cassava, flax, millet, quinoa, sorghum, soy, tapioca and teff
- Flours made from gluten-free grain, nuts, beans and coconut
- Milk, butter, margarine, real cheese, plain yogurt, ice creamVegetable oils, including canola
- Plain fruits, vegetables, meat, seafood, potatoes, eggs
- Nuts, Nut butters, beans and legumes
- Distilled vinegar
- Distilled alcoholic beverages
- Spices with no other ingredients listed on the container
For advanced readers, gluten-free ingredients are listed here:
Annatto, glucose syrup, lecithin, maltodextrin, oat gum, plain spices, silicon dioxide, starch, food starch, malt vinegar, citric, lactic and malic acids, sucrose, dextrose, lactose, arrowroot, cornstarch, guar and xanthan gums, tapioca flour or starch, potato starch flour and potato starch, vanilla.
What to avoid in a Gluten-Free Diet?
What to avoid besides what to enjoy? Simply keep in mind about the following noes: wheat, rye, barley, malt, and breaded food.
Here is a list of Yum! ( Yes ) and Run! ( No ) prepared by GlutenFree.com regarding gluten-free diet.
” With a full range of gluten-free products in JustGreen stores, you will find substitutes for gluten-containing foods that you can eat. Let’s enjoy in gluten-free living. “
Visit our stores and talk to our staff to know more.